Major Churchill Jones

May 25, 2002


Walter Sheffield, President of the Colonel Fielding Lewis Chapter (Top) presided during the ceremony. VASSAR Chaplain Canon Henry Minich (Left) offered the invocation and Harriet Condon (Right) spoke about  the life of Major Churchill Jones and his contributions during the Revolutionary War.  Major Jones died in 1822 and was buried in an unmarked grave in a small family cemetery at his brother William's home, Ellwood, in the Wilderness, Virginia.

Forty-three years later another war would visit the Wilderness area of Virginia, and in one of the most fierce battles of the Civil War, General "Stonewall" Jackson would be wounded and have his arm amputated.  The arm was buried next to the grave of Major Jones in the small family cemetery at Ellwood.  The commemorative plaque (below-left)  presented in recognition of Major Jones' service will hang inside Ellwood House (below-right) while the only marked grave in the cemetery is that of Jackson's arm (bottom).


Compatriots from five SAR Chapters and representatives from four DAR chapters and one CAR Society took part in the dedication ceremony.  Pictured left-to-right: Mike Lyman, President, Culpeper Minute Men Chapter; Will Simpson, Vice President of the "Light Horse Harry" Lee Society, CAR; Jim Bayne, Vice President, CMM Chapter; Andy Johnson, George Mason Chapter; Skip Nolan, Colonel Fielding Lewis Chapter; Bob Justice, President-elect, Virginia Society, SAR, and member, Fincastle Resolutions Chapter; Bill Simpson, VASSAR Graves Registration Chairman and member, CFL Chapter; Larry Alexander, CMM Chapter; Canon Henry Minich, VASSAR Chaplain and President, Thomas Jefferson Chapter; Judith Surber, Virginia State DAR representative and Regent, Jack Jouett Chapter; Walter Sheffield, President, CFL Chapter; Jack Morris, CFL Chapter; Bob Bowen, VASSAR Flag Committee Chairman and member, CFL Chapter; and Dr. James Griffes, Chaplain, CFL Chapter. Not pictured DAR representatives include B. J. Simpson, Prince William Resolves Chapter; Marty Lyman, Washington-Lewis Chapter; Beverly Alexander, Fauquier Courthouse Chapter, and Helen Bowen, Bill of Rights Chapter.

Back to the Gallery Page

|| Welcome || Namesake || About Us || Officers || Awards || Events || Our Patriots ||
|| Join the SAR || Gallery || Contact Us ||
Welcome Our Namesake About Us Officers Chapter Awards Meetings/Events Our Patriots Join the SAR Gallery Contact Us